San Diego Beer Scene

Rumor has it brewery tours can double as bachelor parties and San Diego has the most craft  breweries per county in the US.  It didn’t take me long to decide I had to go visit some of these breweries and tasting rooms. A perfect opportunity arose when my best friend came in town from D.C. What better way to introduce her to SoCal than to day drink craft beers in San Diego?

Monkey Paw is a small brewery located in downtown San Diego.

Monkey Paw is a small brewery located in downtown San Diego.

Monkey Paw was the first stop on our tour. This wasn’t actually part of my exhaustive research. A friend recommended it the night before. He said it was going to be the “IT” brewery.

I’m not one for fads, but if you tell me that craft brews, especially IPA’s are trendy, then go ahead and call me a hipster. Ballast Point is home to my favorite IPA. Seriously, drink it. It is everywhere in SoCal and bound to come to the east coast soon. They also had guacamole and Indian( curry and saffron) flavored beers on tap. The tasting room is a decent size and just opened downtown in Little Italy.

Mike Hess Brewing

This tasting room located in the trendy neighborhood of North Park( think: five yoga studios on one corner, overflowing brunch scene, and boutiques) is as family friendly an alcoholic establishment as I’ve ever seen. The owners brewed out of their home until friends convinced them to make it a permanent business venture. Their kids play downstairs. The Fiesta and Jucindus are a must. Quite a local following here.

Lynda Hess gave my parents a tour during a Saturday event.

“Lynda Hess gave my parents a tour during a Saturday event..

Located in North Park area of San Diego

Located in North Park area of San Diego

Mission Brewery

So nice, I did it twice. If you can hang, I recommend Mission, which is located in a seriously dodgy part of town ( you’ll pass homeless tents). Food trucks park right outside the front door and wait for you to crawl out. It is not only dog friendly, but a bar cat will greet you at the door!

Trader Joe’s is my jam. I talk about it all the time. I’m pretty much obsessed and even petitioned to have one opened in Jacksonville, Fla.  I came across Mission and grabbed a six pack because it was from California and seemed exotic. I asummed it was Trader Joe’s brand beer. Ever had the Trader Giotto’s or Trader Jose’s products? Yeah, I thought TJ’s brewed their own beer and it was called Mission.

 

Mission Brewery-downtown San Diego

this dog is a little badass

very dog-friendly with food trucks outside

Family and dog friendly

 

 

Leave a Reply

